Friday, November 23, 2007

House Of Reggae #12 (MP3 Podcast Review)


WWW, November 2007 - None less than 16 tunes in what is another great selection of info-tainment by the master of the genre in this discipline of the Reggae Podosphere!

The 12th episode of Ian's House Of Reggae starts with a serious selection of the late 1970's, including an interesting Clint Eastwood riding the Uptown Top Ranking riddim that sound quite different than the one that made it into the UK Charts back in the days.

As our host takes us back further in time, he explains just what we're about to hear in his own way of "ire enthusiasm" with Jamaican Reggae and Ska music.

He doesn't ignore the themes that cause the many Sufferers tunes you can find in Jamaican Music through-out the decades, things which could be quite relevant for people who are just staring to get to know Reggae Music and want to find out what that great stuff they hear is all about.

One of those themes in the political violence and the declared peace after countless of people dies in the war between the rivaling political parties. The story behind Bob Marley's "One Love Peace Concert", for example. is very much related to this as well as the tunes that our host plays in another section of yet another great piece of info-tainment!


01. Ray Darwin - People's Choice
02. Sea & Waves - Born In The Ghetto
03. Ghetto version
04. Clint Eastwood - Badder Than You
05. The Clarendonians - You Can't Be Happy
06. Frankie Jones - The War Is Over
07. Freddie McKay & Jah Lloyd - War Is Over
08. Da'Ville - Love U Better
09. Wailing Souls - Take A Taste
10. Ringo - Don't Know Much
11. Winston & Roy feat. Count Ossie - Babylon Gone
12. Delroy Wilson - Lion Of Judah
13. Ce'Cile - Waiting
14. Pinchers - Seen & Done
15. Tony Curtis & Jigsy King - I'm Sorry
16. Buju Banton - Love Needs


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting on this article! We welcome every thoughfull response, whether positive or negative. However, we will not be able to post insultive or abusive comments, neither shall we allow irrelevant spam.

Although you can comment anonymous, we do ask you to use a name so that comments will be a bit overseeable for the reader(s). To read a discussion where every poster is "anonymous" could be a bit confusing, after all...

Visit the Dubroom!

Our NETLABEL releases music from the Dubroom Studio and that of others and our WEBSTORE has some interesting releases too. We also have tons of REVIEWS on MP3's, VIDEO's, ALBUMS, BOOKS, WEBSITES, and MORE. Especially for the (online) artists, there is an artists-only STUDIO. Additionally, we have several research and information websites on BABYLON, CHRISTIANITY, and RASTAFARI. Also check out our ARTICLES and get in touch with other visitors on our MESSAGE BOARD. Or stay up-to-date by subscribing to one or more of our MAILING LISTS. Find all Dubroom features at our SITE MAP. When something is unclear, you can always check our FAQ or use the search engine to find what you're looking for. And ofcourse, you can allways CONTACT us.